International English Language Testing System (IELTS)

International English Language Testing System (IELTS, pronounced ielts) is a test of English language proficiency. It is jointly managed by University of Cambridge ESOL Examinations, British Council and IDP Education Australia.

Candidates may choose either the Academic Module or the General Training Module:
•    The Academic Module is intended for those who wish to enroll in universities and other institutions of higher education.
•    The General Training Module is intended for those planning to undertake non-academic training or to gain work experience, or for immigration purposes.
IELTS is accepted by most Australian, British, Canadian, Irish, New Zealand and South African academic institutions.

An increasing number of academic institutions in the USA, and by various professional organizations has open doors to top 25 universities.

It is also a requirement for migration to Australia and Canada.

IELTS characteristics
•    IELTS tests the ability to listen, read, write, and speak in English.
•    Band scores are used for each language sub-skill (Listening, Reading, Writing, and Speaking). The Band Scale ranges from 1 ("Non User") to 9 ("Expert User").

Band Scale
IELTS is scored on a nine-band scale. Each Band corresponds to different English competence. The Band Scores are in either whole or half Bands. The nine bands are described as such:
9 Expert User
Has fully operational command of the language: appropriate, accurate and fluent with complete understanding.
8 Very Good User
Has fully operational command of the language with only occasional unsystematic inaccuracies and inappropriacies. Misunderstandings may occur in unfamiliar situations. Handles complex detailed argumentation well.
7 Good User
Has operational command of the language, though with occasional inaccuracies, inappropriacies and misunderstandings in some situations. Generally handles complex language well and understands detailed reasoning.
6 Competent User
Competent user.
5 Modest User
Has partial command of the language, coping with overall meaning in most situations, though is likely to make many mistakes. Should be able to handle basic communication in own field.
4 Limited User
Basic competence is limited to familiar situations. Has a frequent problem in use of complex language.
3 Extremely Limited User
Conveys and understands only general meaning in very familiar situations. Frequent breakdowns in communication occur.
2 Intermittent User
No real communication is possible except for the most basic information using isolated words or short formulae in familiar situations and to meet immediate needs. Has great difficulty understanding spoken and written English.
1 Non User
Essentially has no ability to use the language beyond possibly a few isolated words.
0 Did not attempt
No assessable information provided. Candidate may have failed to sit for the exam.

Test Duration:    2:45 mins.

Test Score Validity     : 2 years.  

Official Score Reported   :  Mailed after 13 days of taking the test.

When is the Test Conducted ?  :  Thrice or four times in a month 

Test Repetition  Policy   :  Next available date  

Where Does One Register For The Test ?:Eduweb Centre or British Council/IDP across India.

Mode of Registration:Online / Offline.

Proof of Document Required for Registration:
The documents required for the registration purpose as per new chnages are
1. IELTS application form
2.First and last page of the valid passport.
3. Payment proof.

Test Fee:   Rs. 11,800/- British council

                  Rs. 11,800/- IDP

 New test of IELTS are introduced as :

  UKVI- Academic / General

Test fee:    Rs. 18,600 /-

Life skills

Test fee:    Rs. 13,960/-               

Mode of Payment   :Demand Draft / Credit Card / Cash

Additional Score Reporting Fee:Rs. 250/- per institute Via Post & Rs. 1000/- Via Courier

Coaching Fee (Rs.):7000/- + 18% GST
Duration: 30 hrs 3 to 4 weeks
IELTS has 48 fixed dates each year to ensure high levels of quality and security.

The Academic version of the test is available on all 48 dates. The General Training version of the test is available on 24 dates